Maca - Hypothyroidism



Hypothyroidism is a condition in which the body lacks sufficient thyroid hormone. Since the main purpose of thyroid hormone is to "run the body's metabolism", it is understandable that people with this condition will have symptoms associated with a slow metabolism. Over five million Americans have this common medical condition; in fact, as many as ten percent of women may have some degree of thyroid hormone deficiency. Hypothyroidism is more common than you would believe...and, millions of people are currently hypothyroid and don't know it!


Hypothyroidism Hypothyroidism

How Your Thyroid Works

"A delicate Feedback Mechanism"

Your thyroid gland is a small gland, normally weighing less than one ounce, located in the front of the neck. It is made up of two halves, called lobes that lie along the windpipe (trachea) and are joined together by a narrow band of thyroid tissue, known as the isthmus.


Hypothyroidism Hypothyroidism

The thyroid is situated just below your " Adams apple" or larynx. During development (inside the womb), the thyroid gland originates in the back of the tongue, but it normally migrates to the front of the neck before birth. Sometimes it fails to migrate properly and is located high in the neck or even in the back of the tongue (lingual thyroid), this is very rare. At other times it may migrate too far and ends up in the chest (this is also rare).

The function of the thyroid gland is to take iodine, found in many foods, and convert it into thyroid hormones: thyroxine (T4) and triiodothyronine (T3).

Thyroid cells are the only cells in the body which can absorb iodine. These cells combine iodine and the amino acid tyrosine to make T3 and T4. T3 and T4 are then released into the blood stream and are transported throughout the body where they control metabolism (conversion of oxygen and calories to energy). Every cell in the body depends upon thyroid hormones for regulation of their metabolism. The normal thyroid gland produces about 80% T4 and about 20% T3, however, T3 possesses about four times the hormone "strength" as T4.

The thyroid gland is under the control of the pituitary gland , a small gland the size of a peanut at the base of the brain (shown here in orange). When the level of thyroid hormones (T3 & T4) drops too low, the pituitary gland produces Thyroid Stimulating Hormone (TSH) which stimulates the thyroid gland to produce more hormones. Under the influence of TSH, the thyroid will manufacture and secrete T3 and T4 thereby raising their blood levels. The pituitary senses this and responds by decreasing its TSH production. One can imagine the thyroid gland as a furnace and the pituitary gland as the thermostat. Thyroid hormones are like heat. When the heat gets back to the thermostat, it turns the thermostat off. As the room cools (the thyroid hormone levels drop), the thermostat turns back on (TSH increases) and the furnace produces more heat (thyroid hormones).


Hypothyroidism

The pituitary gland itself is regulated by another gland, known as the hypothalamus (shown in our picture in light blue). The hypothalamus is part of the brain and produces TSH Releasing Hormone (TRH) which tells the pituitary gland to stimulate the thyroid gland (release TSH). One might imagine the hypothalamus as the person who regulates the thermostat since it tells the pituitary gland at what level the thyroid should be set.

Remember…

hypo = too little
thyroidism = disease of the thyroid
Thus, hypo-thyroidism = a disease of too little thyroid activity.

There are two common causes of hypothyroidism. The first is a result of previous (or currently ongoing) inflammation of the thyroid gland which leaves a large percentage of the cells of the thyroid damaged (or dead) and incapable of producing sufficient hormone. The most common cause of thyroid gland failure is called autoimmune thyroiditis (also called Hashimoto's thyroiditis), a form of thyroid inflammation caused by the patient's own immune system. The second major cause is the broad category of "medical treatments".  The treatment of many thyroid conditions warrants surgical removal of a portion or all of the thyroid gland. If the total mass of thyroid producing cells left within the body is not enough to meet the needs of the body, the patient will develop hypothyroidism. Remember, this is often the goal of the surgery in surgery for thyroid cancer. However, at other times, the surgery will be to remove a worrisome nodule, leaving half of the thyroid in the neck undisturbed. Sometimes (often), this remaining thyroid lobe and isthmus will produce enough hormone to meet the demands of the body. For other patients, however, it may become apparent years later that the remaining thyroid just can't quite keep up with demand. Similarly, goiters and some other thyroid conditions can be treated with radioactive iodine therapy . The aim of the radioactive iodine therapy (for benign conditions) is to kill a portion of the thyroid to [1] prevent goiters from growing larger or [2] producing too much hormone (hyperthyroidism). Occasionally, (often?) the result of radioactive iodine treatment will be that too many cells are damaged so the patient often becomes hypothyroid a year or two later. This is O.K. and usually greatly preferred over the original problem. There are several other rare causes of hypothyroidism , one of them being a completely "normal" thyroid gland, which is not making enough hormones because of a problem in the pituitary gland. If the pituitary does not produce enough Thyroid Stimulating Hormone (TSH) then the thyroid simply does not have the "signal" to make hormone, so it doesn't.

Symptoms of Hypothyroidism

  • Fatigue
  • Weakness
  • Weight gain or increased difficulty losing weight
  • Coarse, dry hair
  • Dry, rough pale skin
  • Hair loss
  • Cold intolerance (can't tolerate the cold like those around you)
  • Muscle cramps and frequent muscle aches
  • Constipation
  • Depression
  • Irritability
  • Memory loss
  • Abnormal menstrual cycles
  • Decreased libido
Each individual patient will have any number of these symptoms that will vary with the severity of the thyroid hormone deficiency and the length of time the body has been deprived of the proper amount of hormones. Some patients will have one of these symptoms as their main complaint, while another will not have that problem at all and will be suffering from a different symptom. Most will have a combination of a number of these symptoms. Occasionally, some patients with hypothyroidism have no symptoms at all, or they are just so subtle that they go unnoticed.

Note:   Although this may sound obvious, if you have these symptoms, you need to discuss them with your doctor and probably seek the skills of an endocrinologist.  If you have already been diagnosed and treated for hypothyroidism and you continue to have any or all of these symptoms, you need to discuss it with your physician.  Although treatment of hypothyroidism can be quite easy in some individuals, others will have a difficult time finding the right type and amount of replacement thyroid hormone.

Hypothyroidism can often be diagnosed with a simple blood test. In some persons, however, its not so simple and more detailed tests are needed. Most importantly, a good relationship with a good endocrinologist will almost surely be needed.  

Potential Dangers of Hypothyroidism
Because the body is expecting a certain amount of thyroid hormone, the pituitary will make additional thyroid stimulating hormone (TSH) in an attempt to entice the thyroid to produce more hormone. This constant bombardment with high levels of TSH may cause the thyroid gland to become enlarged and form a goiter (termed a "compensatory goiter"). Left untreated, the symptoms of hypothyroidism will usually progress. Rarely, complications can result in severe life-threatening depression, heart failure or coma.


Back to the Last Page     

    With you, our website got visited 2247536 times.
    © 2007-2014 UHTCO Corporation, Ontario, Canada. All Rights Reserved.
Updated: Tuesday, September 16, 2008 - V2.36    
English  |  Français  |  Español

Maca - Hypothyroïdisme



L'hypothyroïdisme est une condition par laquelle le corps manque d'hormones thyroïdiennes. Vu que le propos principal de l'hormone thyroïdienne est de “faire fonctionner le métabolisme du corps », il est compréhensible que les gens qui souffrent de cette condition auront des symptômes associés au bas métabolisme. Autour de 5 millions d'Américains souffrent de cette condition médicale. En fait, 10% des femmes peuvent avoir un certain degré de déficience de la thyroïde. L'hypothyroïdisme est plus commun que vous le croyez… et des millions de personnes en souffrent de cette condition sans même le savoir!


Hypothyroidism Hypothyroidism

Comment fonctionne-t-elle votre Thyroïde

"Un mécanisme de feedback très délicat"
Votre glande thyroïde est une petite glande. Son poids est d'approximativement 1 onze. Elle est située dans la partie antérieure du cou. Elle est composée de deux moitiés appelées lobes et qui se trouvent au long de la trachée et sont attachées par une bande de tissu thyroïdien appelé isthme.


Hypothyroidism Hypothyroidism

Elle est située juste en dessous de votre laryngé. Pendant le développement (grossesse), la thyroïde s'origine dans la partie arrière de la langue et normalement migre vers la partie avant du cou avant l'accouchement. Des fois, elle n'arrive pas à finir son voyage et reste haut dans le cou ou même en arrière de la langue (thyroïde linguale). Il est pourtant très rare. D'autres fois, elle peut migrer trop loin et se trouver dans la poitrine (cela est aussi très rare).

La fonction de la glande thyroïde est de prendre l'iodine trouvé dans la nourriture et le convertir en hormones thyroïdiennes : thyroxine (T4) et tri-iodothyronine (T3). Les cellules thyroïdiennes sont les seules dans le corps qui peuvent absorber l'iodine. Ces cellules combinent l'iodine et l'aminoacide appelé tyrosine pour fabriquer la T3 et la T4. Ces dernières sont alors relâchées dans le flux sanguin et sont transportées partout dans le corps où elles contrôlent le métabolisme (conversion de l'oxygène et les calories en énergie). Toute cellule dans notre corps dépend sur les hormones thyroïdiennes pour la régularisation de leur métabolisme. Une glande thyroïde normale produit 80% de T4 et 20% de T3, pourtant, la T3 possède quatre fois l'hormone de “force” que la T4.

La glande thyroïde contrôle la glande pituitaire, une glande de la grandeur d'une arachide qui se trouve à la base du cerveau (montrée en couleur orange). Lorsque les niveaux d'hormones thyroïdiennes (T3 & T4) descendent trop bas, la glande pituitaire produit l'hormone de stimulation thyroïdienne (HST) qui stimule la glande thyroïde à produire plus d'hormones. Sous l'influence de HST, la thyroïde produira et sécrétera les T3 et T4 augmentant ainsi leur niveau dans le sang. Le pituitaire ressent cela et réponde en diminuant la production de HST. On peut penser à la thyroïde comme une chaufferette et la pituitaire comme un thermostat. Les hormones thyroïdiennes sont comme la chaleur. Quand la chaleur retourne vers le thermostat, il s'éteint. Lorsque la pièce refroidisse (les niveaux d'hormones thyroïdiennes diminuent), le thermostat se rallume (augmentation de HST) et la chaufferette produit plus de chaleur (hormones thyroïdiennes).


Hypothyroidism

La glande pituitaire par elle-même est réglée par une autre glande, connue comme hypothalamus (en couleur bleu pâle dans le dessin). L'hypothalamus est une partie du cerveau et produit l'hormone de relâchement de HST (HRH) qui avertit la glande pituitaire de stimuler la glande thyroïde (relâchement de HST). On peut imaginer l'hypothalamus comme étant la personne qui règle le thermostat car il avertit la pituitaire à quel niveau doit être réglée la glande thyroïde.

Rappelez-Vous …

Hypo = trop peu
thyroïdisme = maladie de la thyroïde
Donc, hypothyroïdisme = maladie due à une trop basse activité thyroïdienne.

Il existe deux causes principales de l'hypothiroïdisme. La première est une conséquence d'une inflammation antérieure (ou courante) de la glande thyroïde qui laisse une grande quantité de cellules endommagées (ou mortes) et qui empêche la production suffisante d'hormones. La cause la plus commune de défaillance de la glande thyroïde est appelée thyroïdite auto immune (également appelée thyroïdite de Hashimoto), une forme d'inflammation de la thyroïde causée par le propre système immunitaire de la personne. La deuxième cause se doit à la panoplie de “traitements” médicaux.  Le traitement de plusieurs conditions de la thyroïde justifie l'ablation chirurgicale d'une portion ou de toute la glande thyroïde. Si la masse thyroïdienne totale qui produit de cellules n'est pas assez pour atteindre les niveaux nécessaires au corps, alors le patient devient hypothyroïdien. Rappelez-vous pourtant que cela est la fin recherchée par l'intervention chirurgicale quand il s'agit du cancer à la thyroïde. D'autres fois, l'intervention chirurgicale sera effectuée pour enlever juste un nodule, laissant une moitié de la thyroïde sans déranger. Souvent, cette partie restante de la thyroïde produira assez d'hormones pour le corps. Pour d'autres patients, pourtant, la production d'hormones peut s'avérer insuffisante après un certain temps. Les goitres et d'autres conditions de la thyroïde peuvent aussi être traités avec une thérapie d'iodine radioactif . La fin de ce traitement (pour de conditions bénignes) est de tuer une portion de la thyroïde pour [1] prévenir la croissance des goitres ou [2] éviter la production de trop d'hormones (hyperthyroïdisme). Occasionnellement, (souvent ?) le résultat de ce traitement est que trop de cellules sont endommagées et le patient devient hypothyroïdien un ou deux ans après. Cela est correct et l'on préfère cette condition au problème original. Il existe plusieurs autres causes d'hypothyroïdisme , une d'elles, ayant une glande thyroïde normale qui ne produit pas assez d'hormones à cause d'un problème dans la glande pituitaire. Si la pituitaire ne produit pas assez de HST, la thyroïde ne reçoit pas le signal pour produire des hormones, donc elle ne le fait pas.

Symptômes de l'hypothyroïdisme

  • Fatigue
  • Faiblesse
  • Gain de poids ou grande difficulté à en perdre
  • Cheveux secs
  • Peau sèche, rugueuse
  • Perte de cheveux
  • Intolérance au froid (on ne peut pas endurer le froid comme ceux autour de nous)
  • Crampes musculaires et douleurs musculaires
  • Constipation
  • Dépression
  • Irritabilité
  • Perte de mémoire
  • Cycles menstruels anormaux
  • Diminution de la libido


Chaque patient montrera quelques uns ou tous les symptômes. Cela dépend de la sévérité de la déficience de la thyroïde ainsi que du temps pendant lequel le corps a été privé d'une quantité adéquate d'hormones. Quelques patients vont se plaindre d'un des symptômes pendant que d'autres n'auront pas le même symptôme, mais un autre. La plupart auront une combinaison de symptômes. Occasionnellement, les patients n'auront pas de symptômes du tout, ou si peu qu'ils ne s'apercevront pas.

Note:   Bien que cela peut paraître évident, si vous expérimentez ces symptômes, vous devez en discuter avec votre médecin et probablement chercher l'aide d'un endocrinologue. Si vous avez déjà été diagnostiqué et traité d'hypothyroïdisme et que vous continuez d'expérimenter ces symptômes, vous devez en consulter avec votre médecin. Bien que le traitement pour cette condition soit assez facile chez quelques individus, d'autres éprouvent de la difficulté à trouver le type et la quantité appropriés des hormones thyroïdiennes de remplacement.

L'hypothyroïdisme peut être souvent détecté par un simple test de sang. Chez quelques personnes, pourtant, il n'est pas si simple et de tests plus détaillés sont nécessaires. Plus important encore, une bonne relation avec un bon endocrinologue sera sans doute nécessaire.

Dangers Potentiels de l'hypothyroïdisme
Le corps attend une certaine quantité d'hormones thyroïdiennes, alors la pituitaire fabriquera de HST additionnelles pour obliger la thyroïde à produire plus d'hormones. Ce bombardement continu avec de hauts niveaux de HST peut occasionner que la thyroïde devienne plus grande et former de goitres (appelés « goitres compensatoires »). Non traités, les symptômes d'hypothyroïdisme augmenteront. Rarement ces symptômes peuvent amener à des dépressions sévères, défaillance cardiaque ou coma.


Retour à la page précédente     

    Vous êtes notre 2244911 ème visiteur.
    © 2007-2014 UHTCO Corporation, Ontario, Canada. Tous droits réservés.
Mise à jour: mardi 16 septembre 2008 - V2.36    
English  |  Français  |  Español